2 comments on “Phases SMhases

  1. Great post, Chief! I appreciate the phases that you mention, because they refer me back to my public health theories. One that I’m particularly enamored with called Stages of Change. SoC basically means that different people at different times are on a continuum of a process. Take quitting smoking for example: giving information or strategies to help is dependent on which stage they are in. If they’re considering quitting, you tell them one thing. If they’ve started quitting, you tell them another. If they’ve already quit, you tell them something else. Because telling someone who’s just starting out that it’s the hardest thing they’ve ever done, and everyone slips up once and again, is just about the worst thing you can say to them.

    To bring it back to the emergency situation. Different people in a disaster will progress through those eight phases at different speeds. One person might uptake that warning message very quickly and move right into the threat phase. Someone else might take longer to heed the warning and not progress as quickly as others. Our messaging, ideally, should be constructed in such a way to take this into account and not assume that everyone is at the same phase at the same time.

    Very interesting, thanks for passing it along!

  2. Pingback: Interesting article analysing Social Media tools for disaster response |

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s